Skip to main content Skip to footer

Electronic Travel Authorisation launch on 25 October

A reminder that ‘The Electronic Travel Authorisation’ (ETA) will be launched on 25 October – a major change to the UK’s immigration system for overseas nationals. The ETA will apply to those who do not require a visa and want to travel to the UK for up to 6 months, those transiting the UK, and individuals coming through the Creative Worker visa concession for up to 3 months.

Nationals of Qatar will be the first to require an ETA followed by those from Bahrain, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, United Arab Emirates and Saudi Arabia on from 1 February. An ETA will cost £10, and applicants can apply online. Those impacted by this announcement can check on the Home Office website or airlines. The ETA will be rolled out to include nationals from all over the world.

British Nationals Overseas – Hong Kong

In other news, the Home Office intends to have a 5-day Priority Service facility for British Overseas nationals in Hong Kong by the end of this year.

About the author


uSkinned, the world’s number one provider of Umbraco CMS themes and starter kits.

Contact us

Interested in our services? Contact us and one of our solicitors will contact you

This website uses a number of essential cookies to operate. Please read our privacy policy for more information